Input pin not driven by any output pins - KiCad 7

I’m new to Kicad and using any such software. I’m trying to follow a YouTube video titled “PART 1: Designing a New Retro Games Cartridge in 2022!” for a Commodore 64. In the video, he is using Kicad 6. In trying to do the project in Kicad 7, I learned to use the newer “unfold bus” feature to create and connect the two buses to the chips. That alone got rid of a ton of errors. I also used a PWR_FLAG to get rid of one more error. Now I’m down to 13 errors that are the same “Input pin not driven by any output pins” on only one side of one chip. All on the Address_Bus.

Here’s the schematic:

All of the pins on the custom created C64_Cart_Port are set to INPUT as directed in the video. But the pins in the EPROM use either INPUT, TRI-STATE, or POWER_INPUT.

The creator of the video stated that he redid his Kicad 6 design in Kicad 7 and got lots of errors. Then changed the buses to sue the “unfold” technique, and the errors went away. He even left the pin assignments for the C64_Cart_Port to INPUT.

I can change the C64_Cart_Port pin assignments to PASSIVE, and the errors go away. But I’d really like to know why I’m getting the errors in the first place.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Joe

First of all the Input pin not driven by Output pin message has nothing to do with buses. The buses are just shorthand for a whole bunch of wires.

The address pins on the EPROM are of type Input. If this were a complete schematic, they would be connected to the address bus of a microprocessor. But as it’s on a cartridge, the microprocessor is outside the schematic. So KiCad doesn’t know that the address pins on the C64_Cart_Port can drive the EPROM address pins. If you set the type of pins K to Y to Output that will satisfy ERC.

I don’t have a 6502 in my library so I’ll take the 6800. From this screenshot of the symbol, you can see that the address pins are of type Output.