IC OpAmp dual rail Power connections

Hi All,
I’m new to KiCAD, although I’ve been designing PCB’s for a good while.

I’ve created my full schematic (so much easier than the software I used before :slight_smile: and I’ve designed my power supply with dual rails to supply the Audio OpAmps. The power connections on the schematic selected as +15v and -15V from the Power symbol list.

However, the OpAmp I’m using has the hidden power pins label V+ and V-. There are no V+ and V- symbols in the drop down power connections list, so how you I relate the two?

Many Thanks
Mike

Make a copy of the symbol in your personal library then edit the power pins to make them visible then you can connect to them with wires as normal?

Or edit the instance of the symbol in your schematic.

I have an old IEEE TTL74 symbol in an old v5 project. I noticed that the symbol in the newer library has visible power pins now.

Please tell us your KiCad version and what opamp symbol that you are using. Opamps mostly have the power pins in a separate “Unit” with visible power pins on recent versions

KiCAD 7.0 on a Mac

Thanks Both.

The OpAmp I’m using is the OP275 and yes it does have a third ‘unit’, that’s the one labelled V+ & V-. I’ve put into the schematic a number of OpAmps, but the third unit has never been an insert option. Should it appear on the schematic? From my question I’d assumed connections would be made in the background, hence asking how I can relate the two.

Put that 3rd unit somewhere on the schematic and connect it up to the power rails.

You’ll find that the length of the pins on that power unit match up with the triangle of the op amps on the 50 mil grid, if you wish to include it in the main part of the schematic.

ok but the third unit has never been an insert option?

Place the opamp symbol and then edit the properties to select unit C and you will see the graphics change.

Hidden power pins on an opamp was a terrible idea.