IC bypass Capacitors

I’m new to KiCAD. I have become relatively proficient with Eeschema. My question is regarding adding bypass cap’s to my circuit. The IC generally have the power pins hidden. So without turning on these power pins, how do I add bypass cap’s? Thanks Mike

I’d worry more about how you connect power…

I’ve used the Power Flag to connect power to various items. Mike

so just drop some caps between there and GND?

The problem is that I want to place a bypass cap at the power pin of each IC. How will KiCAD know where to place the footprints of the bypass cap? Mike

it doesn’t. you do the layout.

I’m not getting it. If I place a dozen bypass caps and connect them to the power flags. Then when I go to make the layout I have to move them to where I want? Mike

yup you’ve got it right

OK, thanks. I’ll give it a try. Mike

What version of KiCad are you using, and which library are you pulling your ICs from? Hidden power pins for ICs no longer conform to the standards for the KiCad libraries. AFAIR in v5 most of the IC libraries (there may be 1 or 2 that haven’t been updated yet) have the power pins as an additional gate (called “Unit” in KiCad) symbol for the IC. If you don’t place that gate then your ICs won’t be powered when you send your netlist to PCBNew. (Unfortunately, the ERC in EESchema doesn’t warn about unplaced gates…)

1 Like

Sadly a few of the logic libs still use hidden power pins in the official lib as nobody cares enough about them to fix this.

I just updated to 5.1.4 . The library is an old custom library I made using 5.0.4 . But my library skills are not the best. My custom library has old Intel IC’s in it. Items like 8251 Uarts, 8080 CPU etal. I had defined the powerpins, but after some reading I made them invisible. Was that a mistake? Mike

I just looked at a 74xx gate and see that there is an extra gate soto speak that has the power pins. I suppose that I should modify my library items to have this? Mike