I have created extensive Symbol Libraries for Valve Amplifiers

Hello everyone, I am relatively new to KiCad but I have been very busy this last 3 months learning and building (and making mistakes and correcting them!). My specialty is restoring and building vintage HiFi and especially Valve/Tube Amplifiers so my initial reaction to KiCad was that it needed someone to build Symbols and Footprints for the components we use. To make things even more alien, I am using Turret Boards, Tag Boards and point-to-point wiring on some projects.

I have now coming to the completion of builds for Symbol and Footprint Libraries, including an extensive Valve/Tube library of the most commonly used Valves/Tubes, Capacitors and Resistors. I am not alone as I am working with my old chum Xavier van Unen MScEE, commercially known as Dr. Tube, and he has supplied the list of Tubes he needs. As I have more time to spare I am doing the spadework for him!

Before I start using GitHub to submit my work, I just wanted to make you aware of what I am doing, it is probably alien to those of you working with PCBs, SMDs and multi-layer boards but I also know that there are others are working in this sphere.

I notice that all of my Symbol Aliases will be redundant in the next release so I could use some input on how this affects these Libraries - is there a migration tool or do I start over? I could write a paper on my work to explain my logic but for now, I just want to let you know what I am doing in case it duplicates anyone else’s work.

Roger and out

5 Likes

Very interested in what you’re doing.

I had to make my own valve socket footprints to help with things like heater trace routing (keeping the traces nice and parallel by carefully rotating the socket an optimal amount) and having traces for parallel inputs on dual triodes in a single envelope (e.g. ECC83).