Hybrid KiCad / ? workflow

Does anyone have a working hybrid workflow with capture in KiCAD and layout in something else (e.g. Altium)?

I’ve been using KiCad for several years with great success on mostly smaller projects. I now find myself wanting to contract out the layout for a relatively complex pcb, but Altium is the local favorite for enterprise and contractors. I’m evangelizing KiCad as much as I can, but pragmatically the pcb layout will need to be done by someone other than me, and they will use their preferred tool which will not be KiCAD. :frowning:

Does anyone have any experiences with hybrid workflow? Fwiw, I don’t see this as selling out. Just giving local contractors more insight and experience with KiCad means the next time I have a complex project maybe it can stay in KiCad.

Cheers,
Dale

The fundamental question here is, “Can (Altium, Protel, Orcad, Mentor, etc, etc) read a KiCAD netlist, or a KiCAD schematic file?” THAT question should be posted on the support Forums for those tools.

Just speculating . . . if you did nothing more than started PCBNew from EESchema, can you export a file format (possibly Spectra?) that one of those other layout programs could import?

Is there any place on the 'net where developers can advertise jobs specifically for KiCAD freelancers?

It’s good to make your acquaintance, Dale
Dale

1 Like

EESchema does claim to be able to generate OrcadPCB2 and CadStar netlists. (I don’t know how good those netlists are.) If the target 3rd party PCB Layout program can import those there might be a possibility. Or someone might be able to write a custom script to translate from the EESchema output to the target PCB Layout program netlist inputs.

I also notice that the netlist generator window has a button for plugins. I’ve never used this… Is this a way to generate custom netlists (like what would be needed to target other netlist formats)?