How to use KiCad with larger teams

Dear KiCad Team,
Dear community,

even tough I have some years of daily-job experience with KiCad in multiple industries, I got some questions that I was not able to answer by myself.

I recently switched job and now work in electromagnetic compliance / quality management in a big automotive supplier. In production projects we use some really expensive and “heavy” piece of EDA software that is integrated in all of the business processes and linked to the ERP, but also needs a lot of setup and even more training. So, apart from that we have a collection of not so “heavy” tools which are mostly selected based on preference of the different departments in different business areas and countries and are used for development of internal projects (like proof-of-concepts or house-developed test equipment like communication partners or some field-bus-to-fibre converters for emc-testing). We also test ASICs and other components that are protected by non-disclosure agreements or in very early development stage and of course our company wants to keep related information in a safe space.

My department now would like to get rid of all those different EDA packages that were collected for internal projects over many years and use KiCad instead of them as can import all of the data of the other packages and is actively maintained. However, this leads to the issue of setup and library / data management in a bigger team (in first stage around 30 to 50 people), where most engineers have many years of experience in hardware development and testing, but not with solutions like git (which of course we still have available as tool).

I would like to have one or more (moderated) repositories for sharing all the data where git-inexperienced users can use any git GUI-tool to pull or merge-request, and where all settings are stored in to easily setup the environment on new computers.

So, here are my questions: