How to use 100mil grid with default libraries in Eeschema?

Is it possible to use a 100mil grid in Eeschema with the default symbol libraries?

I’m just starting out with KiCad and I’m accustomed to using a 100mil grid from previous CAD tools, but it seems like the default KiCad libraries require a 50mil grid in the schematics (although I’m not sure how to reconcile that with the KLC requirements in https://kicad.org/libraries/klc/S4.1/ i.e. “Using a 100mil grid”)

Is there an easy way to work with a 100mil grid without creating my own libraries where all pins are aligned to a 100mil grid?

Short answer, “No, not always.”
The KLC does make some allowance for some parts to be on the smaller grid.

In this specific instance I think you could switch to the 50 mill grid, move the resistors, and then switch back to 100 mill. It’s just a number and one had to be chosen to make everything compatible. Shouldn’t take much getting used to. Other than that, yeah, make your own libraries. 100 seems a little course. Actually 50 seems a little course to me. I generally switch it to a smaller one at the end to pretty up text positioning.

Moving the resistors works temporarily, but as soon as I move the resistors or rotate them, they revert back to the 100mil grid with all the pins off-grid.

Looks like it’s not really practical to use 100mil grids if you want to use the standard libraries…I’ll just switch to using 50mil grids in KiCad.

However, this makes me wonder why KLC S4.1 bothers to require “Using a 100mil ( 2.54mm ) grid, pin origin must lie on grid node (IEC-60617)”? Why isn’t this requirement 50mil grid instead, given that standard parts in the library don’t follow this 100mil rule?

For the resistor (and some other symbols) you can use the one with _small prefix as it is on 100mil grid. (But this is not true for every symbol)

So for some of them you will need to make your own symbols or accept that you will need use 50mil grid.