How to Modify power lib symbols?

Hello, I am a newbie to KiCad and this is probably a simple question for many. I want to modify the symbols in the power library. When I try to modify the GNDA or GNDD symbols I get an message saying I don’t have permission to modify the power library. How can I get around this?

Save the power library as a different name and put it in the C:\Program Files\KiCad\share\kicad\library dir?

Thank you

You shouldn’t modify the library which comes with KiCad. You should create your own libraries. Copy the symbols (and footprints) which you want to modify to your own libraries and modify that new component.

2 Likes

As a new user, why start with modifying libraries?

But if you want to:
The FAQ articles are the most up to date documentation at the moment.
https://forum.kicad.info/search?q=library%20category%3A19

Making custom symbols ( and Footprints) are common and easy to do. My suggestion is to start with making a project specific library in the same directory as your project. Then later, as your knowledge increases you’ll learn other options.

Thank you very much. I only want to change the symbol for the GDND. I don’t want to change anything else.

Thank you very much for the link.

How come I can’t make a copy of the GNDD symbol and Save As DGND? I get a message saying I don’t have write permissions on the power.lib library.

Joe

As you’ve read the documentation by now, (or at least some of it) and the advice above, you should know that the default libraries are read-only because they are maintained by a group of very good and thorough library maintainers. Therefore, you should create your own libraries if you want to use custom symbols. The steps are (approximately).

1. Open the symbol library editor with your favorite symbol.
  2. Symbol Editor / File / New Library
  3. Choose a name + [Save].
  4. Add to Library Table: Start by using “Project” for now…
    I’ve given my library the name “asdf_New_Library”