How to manage board variants (different components and footprints)?

[Personal context]
So, I’ve been trying to begin using KiCad for a while now (a couple of years at least), but for different reasons I haven’t been able to start using it until now.
Up until now I’ve been using EAGLE (from CADSoft, from before Autodesk bought it) so I’m still learning how to do stuff in KiCad.[End of Personal Context]

What I’m struggling now is managing different versions of boards based on a single schematic.
I’ve read about different ways of managing variants here on the forums, but haven’t been able to grasp a good workflow.

Right now I have a board that was designed in Eagle and imported in KiCad and is more or less done.
The problem is I need to have different revisions of the board depending on the stock of components:

• One part uses one of two possible footprints
  • Two parts use totally different component from different brands and (logically) different footprints.
  • I have a section that should or shouldn’t be manufactured depending on the version of the board (on this particular case I could just remove that section from the board before sending the files to the manufacturer).

One solution could to have separate board files per schematic using different footprints, but this means having to modify several files when making a single change (e.g. changing a capacitor, or adding a new pad, or just simply moving some components).

Is there a recommended way to try to manage different versions with different footprints?
Around 90% of the design is fixed between different versions, but some part do have to be routed differently depending on the components used.

Any advise is welcome.

Thanks for reading!

1 Like

Sadly I haven’t used the software lately. Does a ‘save as’ into individual directories still point to the original schematic?

Looking at the pcb file with a text editor, I see references to the original schematic file.