How to make custom library in KiCad 6.0

HI, I’m new to KiCad and am trying to learn how to make a custom library. I want to make a USB Type-C symbol and footprint but am confused on how to do it. A lot of the video and documentation is based to KiCad 5, not 6. Thanks.

Welcome to this friendly forum!
In short words: V5 docu and vids are still suited to get started. Give it a try, then come back with more detailrd questions.

2 Likes

+1 to @marera: tutorials for Kicad 5 in regards of making your symbols and footprints still work.

Personally, I like the Digikey guide as it covers this exact topic really well (and this is how I learned to do that in Kicad): An Intro to KiCad – Part 1: How PCBs Are Made | DigiKey - YouTube

@YoungJeremy1

Don’t forget the FAQ at the top of this page. There are many getting started tutorials most of which are for 5, but making a custom library and making symbols and footprints is the same for 6 as 5.

This is a good one to start:
https://forum.kicad.info/t/creating-a-new-symbol-library-and-a-new-symbol-in-kicad-5/13341

Thanks for the info guys.

When you start consider:

• Put the library in a separate location than the standard Kicad files. I have my in a folder under My Documents (Win 10). This way the libraries get backuped with your documents.

• these are the folders I created:

• When you do start creating your footprint do something real simple like a single pad. Then save it, then retrieve it. If all goes well then start on your real footprint. I hadn’t done this step and lost a lot of work on my 1st footprint because the library was not setup correctly and I couldn’t save my work.

4 Likes

Yes, it’s an excellent plan to mirror the way that KiCad organises the standard libraries for your own resources as @JohnRob outlines. Also I would suggest that when you make them, you name them all with the same, prefix. For example mine are all JP_xxx e.g. JP_Connectors. This makes it easy to sort and identify your own libraries.