How to import different projects .sch files into one hierarchy sheet

Hey mates! I am new to PCB design softwares and starting with KICAD. I want to combine schematics from 3 different projetcs into one using hierachial sheet. Is it possible? is yes please help me. Thanks in advance. tutorial links are welcome.

First, yes it is possible.

Second, you must understand how hierarchical sheets work in Kicad. I suggest you to read the manual to understand the binding of a hierarchical sheet and its file.

Then, make a copy of all your files before trying to merge them in one project. It is possible a file gets overwritten with a blank if a critical step is missed.

For example, a sheet can be imported assigning an empty sheet to an existing schematic file. Or can be imported with copy and paste the content of the schematic you have to the new file (outside kicad, files a text based).

Finally, be careful with the power symbols: they are global to the whole project.

1 Like

Thanks man. Can you help me with a tutorial link or something related to that.

I have not read this tutorial, though.

And the manual pages:
http://docs.kicad.org/stable/en/eeschema.html#hierarchical-schematics

1 Like

If you do that, the new file refers to a wrong symbol cache file. You have to change it manually. Otherwise itā€™s possible you will see only question marks instead of symbols. (At least in version pre-5.)

1 Like

I will try the above steps. For now what I have done is, I just copied all the .sch file into my main project and when while adding the hierarchy sheet, I just given the same .sch file name and it copied with a pop up ā€œthe file already exists, do you want to copy itā€. It worked fine but when I go into that schematic file, the circuit is broken down with ? marks. What went wrong?

Exactly what I described above happened. Edit the files manually. Or edit the symbol one by one, changing them to the ones which can be found.