How to implement a breadboard in KiCad

Hey everyone!

I’m new to KiCad (downloaded it litterally just yesterday) and I need some help creating a schematic for a project of mine.

So I’m trying to find how to implement a breadboard in the schematic but haven’t been able to find it on the app and even searched on the internet, but to no avail. Is there a finished one in KiCad, or maybe to download and import a schmetic (I don’t really now how to, but I guess I’ll check it out if its needed). If there isn’t already a made up one, I’m probably not going to be able to make one myself.

Thanks in advace!

What is a “breadboard”? Kind of circuit like arduino schematics are depicted, like this: https://images.app.goo.gl/QXa497eWu8karSnT9 ?

Kicad is a no go tool for that. You can open demo projects from kicad project (the one with blue icon) manager by file → open demo projects to get the idea of what kicad is supposed to do, or look some videos at youtube…

1 Like

Yeah, that’s exactly it. Sad, that it doesn’t have the feature, but thanks for the help anyways!

You are looking for Fritzing. I could never get a decent looking breadboard with one. PITA as far as I’m concerned but it seems to work well for others.

I used Fritzing before discovering Kicad (had already used Eagle but, hated it!).

Fritzing was very useful for One/Two layer boards and I made many Hobby PCB’s (real hardware). But, grew VERRRY tired of making my own parts (because many in Fritzing were with problems).
Making Parts for Fritzing is a PITA!!!, for sure but, it forced me to learn how to build SVG graphics.

Kicad is a far better tool. And, you can make a Breadboard Footprint and 3D-model. Though I have no need for using Breadboards in Kicad, I did make one, just to go through the steps… did enough to convince myself to Not do it again…

Fritzing Example:

BreadBoard made in Kicad:

There is a saying on hackaday that “Friends don’t let friends use Fritzing”