How to help the Library-Team?

Hello,

I just made finished my first KiCAD layout, and I like to help to improve this software. Because I’m not a programmer I might help with the component library. I made about 40 PCBs in my professional life, with several different PCB software packages - Eagle, Mentor and Geddy (sic!)

On the page https://kicad.org/libraries/contribute/
it says:

“Currently KiCad librarians team counts with just a few people against a lot of merge requests and work to do, having your help would be very appreciated.”

So it seems that this is the way to go. However, I did not find any method to contact the library team. I might spend something like 3 to 5 hours per week for this.

3 Likes

AFAIK, the only way is over GitLab https://gitlab.com/kicad/libraries. Have fun.

Or you can try invoking the library gods @chschlue or ex-gods @Rene_Poschl to more precise pointers.

Make sure that you read the KLC thoroughly:

The library guys are very strict on standards, in order to maintain the overall quality of KiCad libraries.

In fact, we’re even reaching for the stars and try to improve the overall quality.

That aside, help is appreciated, of course, but be aware that it’s not easy to get started right now because we’re in the v6 transition. (Meaning reading the KLC and other guides doesn’t really help because everything is changing.)

I would assume the KLC is quite ok for the footprint side of things or are you planning to do massive changes there as well?

True, footprints will mostly stay as they are.

Thanks for the information. In this case, it seems to me that is is better I contact you after the dust of the action/chaos of the v6-release settled a bit.

ML9104 wrote:

AFAIK, the only way is over GitLab