How to find specific footprint in the library

Hi Guys,
I am new to Kicad and actually, I started a couple of days ago. I need Kicad for just a simple task:
to make a PCB board that I can connect two connectors together.

I am going to design a board to connect two 24pins connectors, that is attached to the picture but I had a hard time to find the footprint for this exact connector.
I am not sure how to find one in the library!!! In what category should I look for them or Should I just design

one?

Thanks,

In the kicad v4 lib look in the lib called Connectors_[Manufacturer name]
If it is not in there, then nobody has yet committed one.
If you don’t have a lib for the manufacturer that builds this connector, maybe try to update the list of available libs using the footprint library wizard.
See https://github.com/bobc/kicad-doc/wiki/How-to-install-local-Footprint-libraries for how to do this. (This tutorial will result in you having local libs. These are preferable to the default kicad v4 on demand online libs.)

In the new v5 lib, footprints for such connectors will be under Connector_FFC lib.

Thanks Rene for your fast response, I think there is not any footprint for the connector that I am gonna use, So making the new footprint will be my last option,yes?

The official lib will never be able to supply footprints (or symbols) for all possible parts. (No lib will ever be able to do that.)

So learning how do create a footprint from the drawings given in the datasheet is a vital skill for anyone interested in pcb design. (Even if you find a footprint, you always need to check if it is correct.)

Edit: You might be in luck. If your connector is made by Hirose, (Hirose has a connector with such a part number). The new footprint library includes a footprint for this part

Even the old Connectors_Hirose lib holds a footprint for the FH12-24S-0.5SH connector.

1 Like