How to export all components from schematic to a library

Hi All,
I’m very new to Kicad, I have just switched from Eagle Professional because of the recent license changes imposed by Autodesk. I’m very impressed so far.

When I create a final schematic, each component has an associated footprint, as well as supplier information in the attributes so that I can create a BOM straight from the schematic without having to hand-touch it after it’s generated. This is a workflow taken from Eagle, but I find it works even better in Kicad (great job BTW).

What I would like to do is to extract all of the components from a finished schematic, including footprint associations and attributes into a personal library, so that when I do another schematic, I can just choose a known component and drop it straight in. As I make more designs, I will continue to add to my personal library thus speeding up the design process.

Is this possible in Kicad?

The answer is that it is probably not done with KiCad itself.

Keep in mind that the Symbol Library and the Footprint Library are handled in different ways.

Eeschema creates a cache.lib file for the individual project; which is one file with all used symbols.

At the moment, I suggest that you look into a program called KiCad Librarian which can handle the symbol manipulation in different files. It is difficult to figure out how to set-up (at least it was for me).

The other option is to use a text editor and cut/paste the symbol information from the cache.lib file to a user create library file. This is not as easy to manage as figuring out how to use the KiCad Librarian though.

Thanks for the prompt reply. Kicad librarian looks good. Not quite what I’m after though.

Thank you. This is very useful. I can write a simple python script to extract the components and insert them in my own libraries.