How to define a custom trench in the PCB between different layers?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Kicad (the project I am working on is only my 3rd board). My current project involves designing a custom PCB for use with very small GMR (giant magnetoresistance) sensors, and in my specific case I require a trench (or hole between specific layers) in a 4 layer PCB. The sensors are placed on the back of the PCB (4th layer), while there is also a current trace passing beneath them on the same layer.
I require a trench or hole between the front layer and the 3rd one (such as only the back layer and corresponding insulation layer) remains. From my understanding, my problem will be solved easily If I can define a custom shape blind via (square or rectangular) or NPTH passing between those specific layers but I haven’t been able to find how you can define that in Kicad (in the footprint editor or PCB layout).

Can you guide me through a step by step process on how I would be able to do so?

Thank you in advance.
P.S. Let me know if more details are required.
P.P.S. I am using the latest version of Kicad (5.1.5.)

You might need to add an image of what you mean by “trench”. This is not a common term and so it is not clear what you mean.

I am also half guessing to what you want to do.
From what I understand you need custom milling of the PCB, but you want it only between the inner layers? That is: not visible from the outside?
Or does this “trench” start on the top of the PCB and goes to the 3rd layer???

I do not think this is supported by KiCad, I would not know how to do it.
Even if it could be drawn in KiCad, how do you want to manufacture it?

Maybe it is an option for you to make gerbers for 2 separate boards, and then order boards with a 0.8mm thickness and then glue or solder them together, or a PCB with a slot and a separate flex that goes over the hole.

Try to think of ways in which your design can be modified to fit in with regular production methods.