How to connect a FT232RL to a USB type C connector

Hello there,

Allow me to say that I’m quite new to PCB design and circuits. Please be precise and elaborative when answering as I imagine this is a typical beginners question.

I was wondering how to connect a USB type C connector to the FT232RL (USB to Serial converter). Let me use the arduino nano schematic as an example.

[Arduino nano V3.3 schematic from the official Arduino website]

In here let’s zoom in on the USB module in the top-right corner. At the border of section B7 and C7 on the schematic. The Arduino Nano uses a USB Mini B female connector.
USB Mini B Pin 1 connected to GND
USB Mini B Pin 2 not connected
USB Mini B Pin 3 connected to Pin 15 of the FT232RL
USB Mini B Pin 4 connected to Pin 16 of the FT232RL
USB Mini B Pin 5 connected to a fuse the MFFSMF050

Now let’s look at the USB type C connector and a table from the data sheet of this connector:

Can I just take the type C connector and connect:
USB Type C Pin A1, A12, B12, B1 and the Shell to GND
USB Type C Pin A6 and B6 to Pin 15 of the FT232RL
USB Type C Pin A7 and B7 to Pin 16 of the FT232RL
USB Type C Pin A4, A9, B4 and B9 to the fuse (MFFSMF050) seen in the Arduino schematic.

Can I just make these connections mentioned above? Or do I have to place diodes to prevent current from flowing back to the connector, what would be good specifications for this diode if I have to add them? I have not worked with reversible connectors before.

While I’m at it, I’d like to ask about the fuse in the Arduino schematic the MFFSMF050. I couldn’t find much about it on the internet and I figured it could be one of these gold Arduino fuses that we can find on the Arduino Uno as well. Is anyone able to tell me what kind of voltage and current limits would be suitable for the fuse placed here?

Kindest regards,
Alex

A more suitable place for arduino technically related issues would be to consult their forum.