How to avoid wires parallel in schematic, crossed in pcb

I’m sorry if this has been addressed elsewhere - not even sure how to describe it as I’m just a hobbyist. I’ve designed a (hopefully) nice little LED control circuit using an MCP23017 multiplexer and two ULN2308 transistor array chips for power and dimmer control. In the schematic, the symbols line up such that the wires can be easily aligned. (sorry this is my first post so I can’t put on two images - basically I mean that all the connections are parallel, and no wires have to be run underneath the chips because the pins line up in a convenient way.

Intuitively, it seems to me that there is no reason the pins between the chips couldn’t be lined up like this on the panel, as the MCP presents two banks of 8 pin output pins, and the darlington arrays look just like they do in the schematic. BUT when I get to the PCB design it ends up looking like this:

Now everything is terrible! I had to flip one of the DIPs to get the pins to align (ok), and all the wire connections form a horrible bowtie shape.

What is the best way to fix this problem - make a new symbol, a new footprint? Thank you.

To be clearer, here is my schematic, which I think looks rather nice:

A few reasons:

• Symbols might not use the same pin ordering as the physical component. (Symbols are made to communicate the function of a part in a simple manner. Footprints are bound by the part it self.)
  • One can mirror a symbol. But mirroring a physical component is not possible.
  • To have parallel connections on the pcb side would require special care by the designers of both components you want to connect.
    • Or alternatively: special care by you the circuit designer. Example: Your circuit might work the same way even if you mirror U2. (Meaning pin 1 of U1 would then connect to pin 8 of U2, pin 2 of U1 to pin 7 of U2 and so on.) That could fix some of your problems.
2 Likes