How to add USB B and micro-B ports

Hello!
I am new to PCB Designing and I am using KiCAD for the first time. This is my first project as I am trying to design a prototyping board for an AVR ATMEGA32A. I want add both USB-B and USB Micro-B ports on my board for ease. I am using FT232RL as a USB to UART converter.
Currently I am using a two way switch in order to differentiate between the ports.

Can someone please tell me how am I suppose to add both of these ports without any errors. Any improvement and feedback will be appreciated.

Either an onboard hub or an adapter cable. I’d go for the adapter.

A hub would be an additional piece. Personally I’m trying to add both ports sort of like in a Raspberry Pi

I said onboard. Microchip USB2422, for example.

He wants the user simply to pick the type B or micro B connector. A hub wouldn’t make sense as there are two host ports effectively… and only the single ftdi chip as downstream.

1 Like

You could use a USB switch, say a Microchip USB3740B.

But I maintain that an adapter is the simple option.

I just went through the USB2422 and USB3740B datasheets.
USB2422 wouldn’t suffice since I don’t need master and downstream ports. It was wrong of me to use the RPi as an example. I understood your context.
USB3740B will be sufficient since I can connect two ports on one side and send their output to a MCU.

P.S If possible, can you recommend a low cost alternative to USB3740B.

Much appreciated. :slight_smile:

Mouser has Toshiba TC7USB40FT at $0.48, I don’t know if that meets your requirements.

USB3740 is $0.80, but that can handle 5V VDD, if that is important.

The Raspberry Pi does not offer dual connectors for a single USB port. The micro-B connector is used solely for powering the board (no data), and the four A connectors are host-mode data and power ports.