How to: 1)Snap to Grid in Schem Editor 2) Set grid to .1 inch?

Using Kicad 6.99 on Win10 64-bit machine.
I’m relatively new to Kicad and its been a few weeks since I last used it…

When using the Schematic Editor I’ll be darn’d if I can remember how to…
1 - Turn Snap to Grid on and Off
2 - Set grid to .1 inches or .05 inches or whatever
3 - Turn Snaps on and off
4 - Set Snap distance
I’ve poked around in Preferences and it didn’t hit me in the face.
I’ve Googled and searched the forum but failed to find the answer I was looking for.
I’m sure the answer is out there but I’ve been unable to dig it up.
So, hopefully some kind soul will help me out.

Thanks for any help.

I am using 6.0…but just right click in blank space on the schematic and select “grid”.

A “trick” (I should have guessed it years ago) for temporarily turning off the grid snap: Hold down the CTRL key while moving reference designations and other objects for which you do not want a coarse grid.

ALT-1 and ALT-2 selects two pre-determined grid settings.

RMB on the grid icon brings you to the grid configuration dialogue.

kicad_Dc6zeDVy0T

where you can configure some parameters, e.g. the grids for fast switching (Alt+1, Alt+2)

kicad_BIvLBG9G3m

To me, RMB refers to the currency in China.

https://www.google.com/search?q=rmb&oq=rmb&aqs=chrome..69i57j0i433i512l2j0i512l3j0i433i512j0i512l3.1042j0j15&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

What does it mean to you?

Your image is clear enough, but I still do not know what RMB stands for in your context.

To me and others in the IT world: Right Mouse Button.

It would be much clearer for most people to write “right-click” rather than assume everyone knows the meaning of a seemingly random TLA.

I’ve been a professional software engineer for 40 years and “RMB” was not immediately obvious to me.

1 Like

I did a quick forum search for RMB and there were countless hits.
But anyways, a solemn oath is order: never again will I use this abbreviation again in this forum.