How have PCB manufacturers eliminated NRE?

Sorry, this is really not about Kicad in any way, but it’s a question I have been unable to find an answer to, maybe someone here, in the business, knows…

I’ve been designing PCBs (oh, sorry, PWBs) for 50 years. Up until maybe a decade or so ago, it was always a very expensive proposition to get a board made due to the “NRE” (Non-Recurring Engineering) cost, which was mostly the cost of the photo plotted films, but also some hands-on production time doing the board stack-up and placement, etc.

These days, I can order 5 small prototypes for $2 each, with no NRE.
How are the production houses doing this? Are they not making films anymore (direct imaging)? Or, or they just combining many different jobs and absorbing the NRE for the combined layout. Or, have films become so cheap that they are basically free?

I would imagine that cheap computing power has made production much quicker, and that probably helps, but going from $200 to $0 is still pretty amazing.

Anyone have some insight?

They are still using films a lot of places. I think the cost is driven down by the raw materials being extremely cheap, and minimizing labor by batching jobs together.

I never believed that the plotted film itself was a significant part of the NRE, but it’s something that is easy to explain. It’s all the small things that add up, From the person taking in your order and data transfer (I once had a design on floppy disk that I brought to a local PCB manufacturer), some checking of the gerber files and up to packaging and shipping at the end, and all those little things add up, especially for small orders.

And a part of the NRE is simply delegated to the customer. Instead of talking to someone on the phone or reading your mail, you use the internet to upload your files, set all the production properties and use their online gerber viewer to check for incompatibilities. That already eliminates a lot of human labor on their side.