How do I stitch two boards together so I can split them out later?

I have a single PCB file which includes two “boards” (see screenshot below).

The idea is to have this manufactured as one big board but later split them off (because I want to stack these two one on top of the other).

I’ve never done this kind of thing before so I’m wondering what the best practice is here? What do I need to do in KiCad to make sure I can easily split up the two boards after they’ve been fabricated? Is there some tool to indicate that the two boards are meant to be separated?

Cheers.

search “mousebites” and/or “panel” … I do this all the time :wink:

I have done this a couple of times recently with a V-Score.

• Butt the boards up right next to each other (no gap)
  • Create separate fill zones on each board (rather than one which bridges the two boards)
  • leave any tracks unconnected that bridge the two boards but in reality are connected via headers (KiCad will list the unconnected pads when you run a design rules check, but that’s fine if you know they are connected elsewhere)
  • Draw the Edge Cuts round the two boards as if it were a single large board (ie no edge cut where the boards join)
  • I use the Eco1.User layer for the V-Score, and draw a single line where the board split is to happen.
  • Output this Eco1.User layer as a separate Gerber when you are preparing the Gerber & Drill files
  • Talk to the Fab plant to make sure they know that this is what it means and, if necessary, rename it to something that makes it clear (I use boardname.V.Score.gbr)

In this example, the V-Score is the vertical green line between the two boards, and you can see one remaining air wire which is actually trying to connect the two ground planes together, though this is achieved elsewhere via pin headers.

I’ve been very pleased with the results, and the boards snap apart really cleanly. Mousebites look a lot more messy (IMHO).

Morph

1 Like