How do I exclude component designations from final PCB?

I’m new to KiCad and have a quick question.

I’d like my manufactured PCB to NOT show component designations (R1, C1, Q2, etc). I can hide the designators while I’m designing my PCB by toggling the visibility of “values” and “references” under the “Appearance” → “Objects” tab, but when I preview the finished board in the 3d viewer, those designations are still there.

Is there an easy way to turn this off?

Thanks

The appearance manager only influences how things look on your monitor, and does not change anything for the output. files.

PCB Editor / Edit / Edit Text and Graphics Properties should do it with the following settings:

1 Like

There is also "Plot reference designators in gerber export settings. I have no idea what it does, but sounds related, untested (writing just for completeness) :slight_smile:

I do not think that such setting should appear in final export dialog, because you will get a board with silkscreen not as designed in PCB Editor canvas, an easy way to miss such setting. I just realized I will receive a board with unannotated meanings of board connectors (like “PWR +/-”, “FAN +/-”)", even looked at board 3d representation and reviewed gerbers before passing them to the fabhouse :D. Not having refdes on a small boars can also be easily missed.

I don’t use references at silkscreen so have no experience with it.
I think that if someone has references at silkscreen than he can:

• place them as he need and than have them at PCB,
  • ignore their right placing and then exclude them from PCB.

For me the simplest way to have these 2 possibilities is the flag you marked.