How do I connect a T2044-4C to ground on a different layer?

I am new to SMD layouts. I do not see how to connect ground (the inner pad) on a T2044-4C package.
Screenshot from 2024-04-20 16-45-06

I learned from this forum to use a via to connect, say a resistor pad to another layer using a via (3.3V in this example on an inner layer) -

I hope I did it correctly. Please critique my sample image!

I don’t see how to use this technique to attach the inner ground pad on the T2044-4C package.

Thanks!

You connect such pad to other layers using vias directly at this pad. In KiCad library there are footprints having thermal pad with vias and openings for paste located between vias.
And in your footprint if from any reason you don’t want vias at pad it looks there are enough space at corners to connect there pad to vias being out of it.

Do I need a different footprint? I got the one I am using from DigiKey for this part.

I found an evaluation board for this part the MAX17633, MAX17633 Eval Kit and it has pictures of the pcb layout. The ground plane has a 5x3 array of vias under the GND pad of the MAX17633.
Screenshot from 2024-04-20 17-38-20

Do I add these by hand to my pcb design? What size and how do I connect them to the GND pad of the part? Is there a less manual way of doing this as with other parts that have a GND connection, then automatically connect to the ground plan when I place them in the design.

Thanks

Kicad treats these as Through Hole Pads that are placed in the footprint using the Footprint Editor.
The footprint offered in the evaluation kit (not the one you mention above) is a TQFN - 20 in either 4 or 5mm package.
This TQFP package is in the Kicad libraries. I’d suggest opening one of these in the Footprint Editor so you can see how they are constructed and how you can modify them.

Below is one example:

Note: I highlighted and moved one pad from the center. You can see the pad properties in the Properties Panel.