High current trace

Hi everyone, I am working on a project and now I don’t know how to design traces in Kicad that can handle 45 amperes, 30 amperes and 77 amperes. I was thinking about copper pour but I don’t know how to do that and I don’t know how much bigger a copper pour should be so that it can handle this amount of current. Also, the Kicad calculator is for a maximum current of 35 amperes but how can I calculate the trace width for the current higher than 35 amperes. Could you help me, please?

2 Likes

My first thought is, if you don’t know, then STOP! I’m mainly a hobbyist but those are some hefty currents and you MUST know what you are doing. 77 amps on a circuit board? Would you like to share a brief description of what you are trying to accomplish? Maybe someone can offer advice as to the best ways to accomplish what you want.

Just looked this up. 30mm copper trace for 77 amps with 4 ounce copper.

https://www.4pcb.com/trace-width-calculator.html

I am designing two circuits one that can provide up to 30 amperes and another one that can provide up to 45 amperes and then I want to connect these two outputs to a current sensor then to a screw terminal that provides up to 77 amperes

1 Like

What circuit board components will you be using to handle these currents? (Link to data sheet) You can use a copper pour top and bottom and then drop in some vias to provide for some connection. @Rene_Poschl has some tutorials. Check the FAQ link. I don’t know for certain he provides pours but those would be your best bet.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your advice. I will use Mosfets, inductors, capacitors, current sensors to build buck converters.

You will need a less-standard heavy copper, 2oz or even 4oz

The challenge is making connections at these currents to the copper, especially external connections

1 Like

Davidsrsb, thank you for your advice. Why is it challenging making connections to the copper using screw terminals? Could you explain more?