Hierarchical Sheets Questions

Hi All, I’m a KiCAD newbie still trying to figure out the ins and outs of the software, but I do have experience with other CAD software.

I have some questions about best practices when using a hierarchical schematic.

1. I’m planning on using the sub-sheets to organize the logical schematic blocks. Would it be bad practice to have some components on the top sheet? Specifically some components that don’t logically make sense to put in the sub-sheet.
  2. Do people draw icons or anything within the sheet icon on the top level to show what the sheet does? Icons like op-amps or power symbols.

Thanks,
Seth

I use components all the time in top sheet, personally I prefer (not always practical) to have anything which will “interfere” with the user in top sheet. So buttons, leds, connectors etc. This way I find it much easier to see what goes in and what comes out without too much digging.

Typically I also have the stuff going between the blocks. Could be filters, jumpers or resistors

1 Like

I often add text notes to explain what is going on in the block

For grins, I took a screen-shot of the hierarchical sheet, resized it smaller, and then inserted it as an image in the top sheet. I don’t know if this is something I would recommend, it was just something that I did once.

That’s a pretty good rule to me! I might also include glue logic possibly, but I guess that depends on the individual cases.

@davidsrsb Good to know. I might do the same.

@Sprig I can see the value of that. I might do that with logos, such as Arduino or RasPi.

Is there a way to link or merge those? As in, make the sheet icon and the text or image act as one entity?

That sounds like a nifty feature request!

Being curious, what is glue logic?

I doubt that there is any formal definition of “glue logic”. It’s a kind of short-hand term that circuit designers throw around, and the exact meaning not only evolves over time, but also depends on where you are working.