Hierarchical pins

Hello Everyone, please help with some tutorial on how hierarchical pins are used to connect to a micro processor. I have sub schematics and a Micro processor and would like to connect those and have have no idea which pins connects to the exact micro processesor pin. I have some similar pin names which I can connect but I dont have any idea on the other pins as their names are different. I know this is a noob question but I am a beginner in electronics (Mech engg.) Thank you.

Hierarchical pins are simply lables that allow you to get from a hierarchical sheet to the sheet that contains it.

So a small tutorial about hierarchical sheets might help.

Step one add a hierarchical sheet in the main sheet (I call it processor.sch and give it the designator processor 1.)

Double click on that new sheet and you will see a new empty sheet. I add some pic micro processor to it and simply connect two of its pins to a hierarchical label (=pin) (I also assign a valid 8 pin footprint without concern if this is the correct one. this is simply to showcase later on the pcb side what has gotten connected.)

I also connect the vcc and gnd pins of the processor to power labels to showcase that these are global.

In the end my lower sheet looks like this:

Now i need to add the two hierarchical pin to the “symbol in the upper layer.”

For that i go back one layer (using the ascend/decent hierarchy tool found in the right toolbar for kicad 4 and in the top toolbar in nightly/kicad 5)
Rightclick the “symbol” representing the sheet and select the import sheet pin entry.
A pin will appear at the edge of the “symbol”. you can move it around using the mouse. If you are happy with the position of that pin you leftclick to add it at the current position.

Repeat that process until all pins you added inside the sheet are visible in the “symbol”.
In our example it will then look something like this.