Help with DSI MIPI adapter board

Hi all,

I’m implementing an adapter board to connect an LCD to a RaspberryPi via the DSI connection on the RPi. I have a question that I hope you guys can helo me with, as I have no experience with implementing video adapters.

I’m using this screen: https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/3-Inch-IPS-MIPI-360x640-ST7701S_62411911940.html?spm=a2700.galleryofferlist.0.0.751690dcbIod7g&s=p&fullFirstScreen=true

The Screen comes with 20 pin, 0.5mm pitch connector. The RPi uses a 15 pin, 1mm pitch connector, hence I need an adapter and have not found any off-the-shelf.

It says the driver ic is ST7701S. But I am confused at to whether the driver ic is implemented into the screen assembly or whether I have to put it on the adapter board.

I can see that the board that the Raspberry Pi foundation made for their screen has many more components than my current design, which makes me wonder if I’m on the right path.

The board I’ve made is a simple pass-through with some voltage regulators to convert the 3.3V from the RPi to 1.8V or 2.8V required by the display.
But I wonder if it should also have the driver ic, ST7701S.

The driver IC is part of the screen assembly.

Thanks!
I hope the schematic is OK. Sent it off to the printshop.

Did you manage to make it work with this schematic?

I don’t know yet, there was no driver for the display and our software guy had not had time to look at it yet.
I’ll keep you posted.

Hi Frank,
I don’t have Skype and I refuse to knowingly install spyware on my computer :blush:
But I’m very interested in what you can help with?

Reference deleted along with user.

Mmmm… I think @zenseidk meant to say, that skype is a spyware tool from Microsoft, maybe Frank was really trying to help?

Yes, that is exactly right.

Easy on the trigger there, Mr hermit.