Help with designing PSR A300 graphite push key contacts / switches

Hello dear users and admins; I’m completely new to Kicad and generally PCB designing, so if I messed up explaining some kicad technical terms regarding what I’m doing pls correct me.

I’m trying to design switches like this picture here and add the symbols to the schematics of the project; the exact picture of a single graphite contact

Here’s what I did with the schematics of switches and diodes like the above picture till now:

So the correct order of implementing graphite contacts is first to design a new symbol for them, add it to a new library then place it on the whole schematic? After that I should design the footprint for the switches?

I just wanted to know the general means to design them properly, and since it’s a really long pcb it won’t be a waste of time and energy for me in the end. I can figure the details of every step myself.
Any advice and recommendations would be much appreciated.

Also as you can see in the original board, wiring copper near the contact areas become thicker and wider. How should I differentiate those parts using the kicad so that he final product would be sth close to the original pcb?
Is this sth to be done in the schematics or should I do it in the pcb layout?

By end of day, you’ll perhaps have a handful of options as there are several ways to do this.

My favorite approach is to draw the contacts in a CAD or Graphics program, save as DXF and Import the DXF into Footprint-Editor when making a Footprint…

You can use Graphics and/or Zones (zones with Pads enable easier Trace connections and can draw the Tapers…)

How to do it is part of Self-Education and, stumbling along the way is your friend…

Generally, the scheme is:

Use of a Schematic Symbol is up to user (symbols are Not required if just wanting a PCB layout but, it’s customary to have Schematic).