Help to Design a PCB

I’ve come up with a small circuit for which I would like to design a pcb. I’ve never done circuit board layout before (not on a computer, and what I did was a LONG time ago).

So, I’m thinking about hiring someone to design the board for me.

Anyone around here that might be able to help me out?

John Rayfield, Jr.

When I started with KiCad (about 10 years ago) the “Getting started in KiCad” manual was excellent, and with it I designed my first PCB in the same afternoon I installed KiCad. After that this manual got seriously out of sync (Because of huge improvements in KiCad itself), and recently this document got an update / rewrite. I’m not sure how good it is now though.

A bit of a problem with hiring someone is that a lot of communication is needed. If you can’t draw the schematic, it’s difficult to describe what you want on it, and if you draw the schematic (in KiCad :slight_smile: ) then you are already 1/3 to a finished project. There is also a lot of communication needed for PCB size, connector layout, mounting holes and other details.

Because of all those details, it easily takes days to get a simple project done in this way. It probably takes more time than if you learn KiCad yourself. :slight_smile: And on top of that. There are not many people in line to spend hours on someone else’s project.

Readers who want to respond are encouraged to use the Private Message feature of the forum to contact jrayfield instead of publishing their contact details publicly. OP, you might consider also posting in the Help wanted section of EEVblog forum. Maybe you might enjoy learning to design your own PCBs. There are lot of online resources for learning.

If the circuit is small than try to do it yourself then post here screen shots of your project and the project zipped and you will certainly get suggestions what can be done better.

1 Like