Handling Power pins

Coming from PADs also I’d like to see Kicad rework the handling of power pins for a part in the schematic. Most schematics that one sees do not show power and ground pins on most/many components. Showing them clutters up the schematic. Admittedly I am new to Kicad and there may well be a better method than how I did it.

For example, I was using a dual opamp. In the Kicad system I found I had to iinclude 3 “units”: unit (amp) A, and unit (amp) B. Fair enough. But then there’s a 3rd unit C, which was just the Vcc and gnd pin. I may be uninformed, but I found I had to include a unit C (two pins) on the schematic. I thought maybe I could at least hide those pins but I didn’t find a way to do that.

Hello @swr999

I moved your comment to a new topic as you are discussing Power Pins on ICs (mainly). The previous topic was discussing Power Symbols. eg Vcc, GND, +5V etc.

My own thoughts are that I like this system. IC power pins are on a PCB layout so they should be included somewhere on a schematic. This Kicad system gives the user a choice of either attaching the power pins unit to a functional unit, or placing them out of the way of the main schematic sheet, maybe in an unused corner, or on an entirely different sheet, perhaps dedicated to all the symbol power pins of that schematic.

1 Like

I to am very familiar with PADS. The power pins should be either listed as part of the op-amp or as a descrete power symbol. It should not be left off of the schematic. I wouldn’t consider it clutter.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies!
Yes, I agree, power pins should be included in the schematic. Just that my preference would be for them to be optionally hidden for any particular part on the schematic sheet .