Ground planes connected by many gridded vias?

Hello,

I’m new to PCB design and KiCAD. I would like to customize a PCB for a amplifier project, using the manufacturer reference design. The circuit is a double layer PCB, with ground pours on top and bottom. Both ground pours are connected by somehow 1000 vias. See image below.

Can those vias, associated with the ground pours, be generated automatically in PCBnew ?

Best regards,

JMF

There is a request for this feature in the develop issue track website

May exist some python script to do that.

The term you are looking for is via stitching. Kicad 5 has at least support for adding such vias. (In v4 you would have needed to use single pad footprints as a workaround.) As of yet there is no automatic way of creating such vias. (It was planned originally but it never got to that stage.)

You can however use the array tool to help you out and there area also some python scripts out there that can add things like guarding vias along a trace of interest. (I think @maui designed such a script. Not sure if it still works under v5)

@hildogjr
you may have a look at here:

@Rene_Poschl
regarding via shielding, I just merged benkempke code to my internal release of kicad, to have it

hope some dev will include those in kv6

1 Like

@Rene_Poschl Can you clarify what you mean here?

@jmf11 For one design I was able to create stitched vias using V5, and I don’t remember it being that difficult; though I don’t remember the exact process I used.

Quite a few of the vias do not appear to be mathematically placed. Creating a grid and throwing the vias in manually would be a bit time consuming, but should not be unreasonable when combined with the other tools in PcbNew.

KiCad 5 has an add vias tool in PCBNew. Here it is on the tool bar:
2018-08-14%2000_20_39-Pcbnew%20%E2%80%94%20C__Users_Chris_Google%20Drive_Barrel%20of%20Makers_Windmill%20LED%20panel_Schemat