Ground plane error - thermal relief connection to zone incomplete

Hi

I am new to kicad, I’ve used eagle several times however it’s been a while since I have touched any pcb production software and I’m pretty novice to it all.

I have added a ground plane to the front and back of my board in the pcb view by defining a filled zone and then filling it. using the gnd net. When I check for errors I get this error

thermal relief connection to zone incomplete (board setup constraints zone fill strategy min spoke count 2; actual 1;)

I have tried to solve this but I don’t really know what the issue is and I can’t seem to find (or understand) any similar issues others have had.

Here’s a picture of my board. I’m using a custom outline, could that be causing an issue?

Any help or leads on how to solve this would be much appreciated.

I’ve just worked out what was up. This may be useful if anyone has a similar issue

In my board setup > constraints
in the Zone fill strategy section…
I changed the Min thermal relief spoke count: to 1 (it was at 2)

The error is now gone :slight_smile:

1 Like

You could also consider changing the rotation of the thermal relief spokes by 45 degrees which often allows more than one spoke to connect to the plane

1 Like

Would that be a better way to do it? I’m pretty out of my depth here in that I don’t really know why I would want more than one spoke. Now that I have updated it and there is no error it still seems to have more than one spoke going to the ground plane anyway.

In general, a good connection to the GND plane is very important, and using more spokes lower the impedance, but it’s irrelevant for a simple design like this. A quick way around it is o manually draw a track from the “offending pad” to some other pad (so it won’t leave the end “dangling”)