Grid: Moving and Rotating Symbols

Hi,
KiCAD Newbie here. Been using OrCAD, PADs, Logic, DxDesigner and Altium for 45 years. Learning how to spell schematic right now.

When I move a symbol I really want pins to stay on grid. For me that is 100mil. If a symbol dimension is not a multiple of 200mil moving by a centroid gets pins off grid. I need to be careful to select a pin when starting a move. Seems the Altium and OrCAD move defaults to a pin when I start a move, great.

The other edit functions is rotate which rotates from the centroid, that is good.

Is there any setup for grids that helps preserve pins staying on grid other than just the size of the symbol?

Thanks,
Bob K.

Hello and welcome,

Kicad library symbols are designed for use with a 50 mil. grid. If you change your schematic grid from 100 mil to 50 mil you should not suffer “off grid” problems with Kicad symbols.

An easy way to change your grid is to Right Mouse click on an empty space of the worksheet, Left Mouse click select Grid from the list in the pop-up box, scroll through the grid settings to find 50 mil then Left click that setting.

There is much information here, particularly the “Getting Started” for basic Schematic use.

I have never (using KiCad since 2017) noticed it.
I’m working with 50 mils grid (KiCad default) and with my own symbols. Designing symbols I take care only about having pins in 50 mils grid. As I prefer to have as small symbols as possible some symbols have for example pins on the right at x=100 mils and pins on the left at x=-50 mils. Even their center is not in 50 mils grid relative to their pins I have never noticed problem of positioning symbols.
Unfortunately I am now at PC (Win7) where I can’t install current KiCad version to do some experiments to check what I am writing.