GND doesn't show in netlist, making ground plane impossible

Hello,

I’m quite new to KiCad but I made a project of doing a homemade Arduino SD shield for different applications. My scheme seems right so I moved on to the PCB design. Everything was going well until I stumbled upon a problem I can’t solve on my own (I’ve been doing research for 2 days).I was wiring everything and I was going to make my ground equipotential area. But when I clicked on “add an area”, GND doesn’t show up in the netlist. As I’m new to KiCad, I don’t even know how KiCad automatically detects those equipotentials (I have a very looong list of all my SD pins, Arduino pins etc… but no GND! Which is the only one I really need).

Anyone knows how to fix this ?

Thank you!

Hard to answer without any design data but my guess would be that you never defined GND in the schematic as dedicated net. Usually this is done by using the GND symbol from the power library which acts as a global label for the whole project. Connecting all dedicated GND pins of different symbols to one or multiple of these GND symbols wont just connect all these pins together in the layout, it will also name the net GND to find it easier in the layouts tools.

Yeah sorry maybe I should’ve shared a screenshot of my project. But I actually used the GND from this power symbols tool :
symbol
as you can see in part of the schematic here :
(sorry I’m a new user so I can’t share 2 images per post - I’ll leave the second screenshot down on the second post)

scheme

as you can see I even tried solutions I found online on other forums talking about power flags and other things

You screenshot isn’t really clear, but it looks like you connected GND to +9V (middle left side in your screenshot, above the SD card). In that case, KiCad has no idea what to do, the combined net probably gets randomly named either GND or +9V.