General Questions for Simple Wire-to-Plug PCB

Hello!

I’m new to PCB designing and have only just begun to mess about with Kicad v7. My main project is a simple one:

I have a motherboard in an external enclosure for my 3D printer. There are about 40 connections that must be made from the motherboard to the printer (all low power; high power connections such as heating elements are separate). I want to neaten this up by creating a cable harness from the motherboard to a connector.

The female connector is made up of 40 (2x20 rows) pass-through soldering points. I have the footprint of the connector downloaded and imported into kicad. Heres where I began to experience some difficulty.

I imported the footprint and loaded it into the pcb editor. I then created 40 solder pads and routed the wires to each of the connectors pass-thru holes. With the rank-and-file pass-thrus some of the wires follow the same path. I figure at this point something is wrong, I’ve clearly missed a step.

In comes the schematic editor. I figured I could just place my connections here, soldering pads, imported footprint, and then apply those to the pcb editor. Unfortunately that doesnt seem to be the case.

Have I chosen the wrong software for my application? My project is extremely simple, just traces from pads to pass-thru holes.

Apologies for this bear of a question, I’m sure I’ve misunderstood some basics. My electronics skills arent particularly honed but I have taken a course of two in the past and enjoyed it. Never designed my own PCB.

Thanks for any insight! I’ll continue to do research in the meantime and update this post if I come to any sudden realizations.

The normal workflow is to place a symbol for the connector on the schematic, route wires to it, assign a suitable footprint, update the PCB, then the layout editor will allow you to draw tracks between pads that are to be connected.

No matter how simple the board may be, there are benefits to starting with a schematic.