When I update my PCB with changes made in the schematics, if the “Re-link footprints to schematics are based on their reference designators” is checked, I end up having the parts rearranged in different locations of the layout.
If I uncheck this setting (shown below) I can preserve the current location of the parts.
What does this setting mean?
Further, I can also annotate back the schematics using “Geographical Reanotation” and then, if I Update the PCB later on, enabling the “Re-linking footprints to schematics symbols based on their reference designators” it again messes up the placement of my parts.
So, what does this item do?
Also, if I move my circuits and symbols to another Schematic Page. Using Cut (Ctrl+X) and Paste Special “Keeping existing designators” I still can’t update my PCB without having the positions changed.
Is there a bug here, or it is just a misunderstanding on my part?
In summary. I would like to be able to move, and organize circuits in the hierarchical schematics, keeping the existing placement when the layout is updated later. I would like also to be able to have the schematics and the layout synced somehow, so the next person (or myself in the future) adding changes to the design won’t mess too much with everything in the design in spite of the part that is being modified.