Footprint Editor will not save changes. Please advise

Windows 10, KiCad 8.0.0

I am having trouble with a certain component, and I am not sure if this is a wider problem. I cannot get the 3D view for the component to work. I am new to KiCad.

I started a schematic, and the first component was a Micro USB connector. I chose the “USB_B_Micro” symbol, and placed it on the schematic. I then went to “Tools: Assign Footprints”, and chose the “Connector_USB:USB_Micro-B_Amphenol_10118194_Horizontal”. I placed the component, then went to the PCB Editor to have a look. It looked OK, but the 3D view showed only the pads, not the 3D model.

OK, off to the Footprint Editor to associate a 3D model with the footprint. In the filter box, I typed “micro usb”, and was taken to the “Connector_USB” folder, and I selected the “Connector_USB:USB_Micro-B_Amphenol_10118194_Horizontal” footprint. Now to “File:Footprint Properties”. Under the “General” tab, I set the “Footprint” to “Connector_USB:USB_Micro-B_Amphenol_10118194_Horizontal”. Now to the “3D Models” tab. The .wrl file was shown as not existing, so I went looking for a 3D model by clicking on the “folder” icon. I found the “Connector_USB.3dshapes” folder, and selected the “USB_Micro-B_Amphenol_10118194_Horizontal.step” file as my 3D model. I had to rotate X by -90 degrees to get it to sit properly on the little pcb in the preview window. I clicked “OK” on that, and “OK” on the “Footprint Properties” window.

Now on the “Footprint Editor” window, I hit the “Save” icon to save the changes that I had made. I got an error message that read, “Library ‘C:\Program Files\KiCad\8.0\share\kicad\footprints/Connector_USB.pretty’ is read only.” Trying “Save as” got me the same response.

So the problem is that I cannot save the changes that I made to the Footprint Editor, associating the footprint to the 3D model. I am very green to KiCad, and must have just missed something. Can anyone advise?