Footprint and symbol checker folded into the IDE?

Not sure if this should go under feature requests but…

As someone who has contributed and worked as a librarian, I noticed there was a check symbol button in the IDE for 5.99

There are some really helpful scripts in kicad-library-utils.git, it would be great if we could run those from the IDE and show the output in the IDE. It would save a ton of time having to manually run that separate step. Maybe that’s in the plan for v6 or later but if not I wanted to bring it up.

If the checkers would run automatically and show a list its of the issues real-time in a separate window or when editing then authors would be able to immediately see that something might not meet the library conventions and address it there vs. the longer loop of pushing a part and then having the CI system find it.

Are the check written in perl? It’s not an option to add perl to KiCad end user packages.

Python actually, https://gitlab.com/kicad/libraries/kicad-library-utils

I vaguely remember that there has been some discussion about it and that it won’t be done. If it has been discussed @Rene_Poschl has certainly been part of the discussion.

They check for KLC compliance. People don’t usually follow KLC convention strictly for their own libraries. Therefore usefulness would be limited to very small group of people.

ATM eeschema and symbol editor don’t have scripting API, but it’s been planned for v6. But scripting has been in pcbnew for a long time and even then the footprint editor doesn’t have that, it can be used only from the board editor. I don’t know if that will be the situation for the symbol editor, too, and in v6. If the library editors receive scripting abilities some day it should be possible to write a plugin and run the tests from it.

Another option would be to add a specific plugin architecture to the library editors, like there’s now the footprint wizard architecture and scripts.