First Board, First Post, .wrl File Hack

Howdy,

First, let me express my gratitude for the work of all the contributors involved in creating Kicad.

Six weeks ago I started learning Kicad, my first encounter with a full blown PCB tool. As a hobbyist I’ve previously made a few boards using ExpressPCB, which is not a good long term solution. I considered Eagle, but the news that they’ve been bought by AutoDesk put me right off that idea. Fortunately there is Kicad!

My pcb is a power supply board for a tube amp. It provides voltages for the output tube screen grid, the plate for the driver, and a voltage for heater elevation.

I sent it out last week and then began configuring 3D footprint parameters. As others have, I encountered the problem of the device being the wrong size and offset from the holes. So, I installed MeshLab, imported the .wrl, exported it from MeshLab, and diff’d it with the original. This revealed that the .wrl MeshLab output has a section for scaling and translation at the top of the file. I then edited the file in WordPad to scale down by a factor of .39 and shift by 1. This is faster, and in my view better, than doing this directly by editing footprint 3D parameters.

As for my board, I think it may need another rev. Carefully following the dimensions in the data sheet, I made my own footprint for the LR8 TO-252 package, U1,2,3. Then when I added the 3D model I see that it EXACTLY covers the pads! I have a feeling I may have trouble soldering this by hand.

Joe