Export Full KiCad Project

I have designed several PCBs using KiCad and successfully manufactured. I used several external foot print libraries and schematic symbol for those designs.
I want to export entire project to another computer/share with others without loosing any dependencies.
How can I do this easily? Is there any third party tool for this?

Normally speaking the whole project should be contained in one folder. If you copy the entire folder (zipping it works well) to the other computer I think this will do the trick. Footprint and symbol definitions should all be contained in that folder. If you want to be able to update symbols or footprints from library in the new computer then you would need to also copy the used libraries; be careful to observe paths. I think this gets a bit more complicated but should not be so difficult.

I am not the best expert here but I have been using KiCad for a few years.

1 Like

What version are you using?

The project files are not a problem. The libs and paths must agree on both computers. This can be a pain.

1 Like

I assume that using global libraries (in contrast to project libraries) is a common practice.
In this case, maunally isolating symbols and footprints used in the project is a tedious task.
It would be nice to be able to automatically extract what’s necessary into the archive, but then there should be some means to restore links to global symbols/footprints once deployed in an environment that contains these items in global libs.
Certainly not straightforward.

1 Like

It depends a bit on how robust you want it to be.
For the PCB you can get away with easy, as all footprints are cached in the PCB file itself, even though the official source is some external library. If yo want to do it “robust” then the way to do it is similar to the route for the schematic.