Error in routing: "Cannot start a routing inside a keepout area or board outline"

Hi,
I am working on a copper spiral project. I have just managed to draw a copper spiral footprint onto kicad. Right now, I am trying to routing the copper traces with my spiral with vias. While doing this there is an error occurring that “Cannot start a routing inside a keepout area or board outline”. So, I don’t know whats I am missing or doing wrong. And I am kind of new to kicad. I think I am missing a very basic thing here. It will be very nice if someone comes up with a suggestion. The respective files are attached. Thanks.

Copper Spiral with Vias.kicad_pcb (7.2 KB)

Which kicad version are you using? This sounds like a bug that was fixed a few minor versions ago.

If you are not using 5.1.9 or 5.1.10, please update.

Thank you for your response. My kicad version is 5.1.9, still getting this error, don’t know whats I am missing there.

You’re clearly a beginner, making beginners mistakes, but that’s all right.
First, never try to just make a PCB. Always work with complete projects, and make a schematic in your project. Even for a project as trivial as this. A schematic creates a netlist, and a netlist is needed to connect things on the PCB together.
For this project, your schematic may look like something like:

After that, a bit of an update of your inductor footprint. There are scripts to generate such spiral inductors, (search this forum or directly on github), but for now I’ll just re-use what you have made.
Footprints need pads. If a footprint does not have pads, you can’t connect anything to it. Pads can be either SMT or THT, but do not try to abuse vias for pads.

A footprint can be directly edited by loading it from Pcbnew into the footprint editor, But I’ll do it the “proper” way, and put your spiral into it’s own library first.