ERC error: Input power pin not driven by output power pins

Newbie here.
When i run the ERC, I’m getting
Error: Input power pin not driven by any Output Power pins
for each of my power and ground connections.

I can make the ones for the power connections go away by adding by connecting a PWR flag to it,
but I can’t make the one for the ground go away by connecting a PWRGND flag to it

Obviously I’m missing something here.
I’m running Kicad 6.0 on Linux.

Have you tried putting a PWR flag on the ground? I’m sure that’s what I do, not near pc at moment to check.

1 Like

Hello,

I really dont want to be a smart-ass :wink: but I have designed some inverter bridges and while your driver stages are very simple they will result in very slow switching: good EMC but high losses. :face_with_thermometer:
I have used this myself for slow switching for a cars turn indicator but if you should be planning to drive a motor using pwm you should consider using a “real” driver IC.

Concerning your question I agree to Steve, the standard PWR flag always worked for me in all situations.

You’ve basically solved it, but you should use a PWR_FLAG on your ground net, not PWRGND.

PWRGND is a ground symbol that one would want to use in power applications; the only difference from the other ground symbols is the name and graphic.

PWR_FLAG is an entirely different beast; it tells KiCad that the net is driven from somewhere. It is appropriate for GND and power nets. Despite the names being similar, there is no similarity between PWRGND and PWR_FLAG.

1 Like

I agree with chris9.

It also looks like the top three MOSfets can also get 48V on their gates and that would destroy them.

Your screenshot resolution is too low to see the schematic properly N-and P-channel FET’s. NPN or PNP transistors… It’s hard to see.