Eeschema copy and paste

I have a dumb question about a copy and paste from one eeschema instances to another eeschema launched from a kicad project. Is this possible? I ask because, many moons ago I was a VLSI designer and the tool we used was very similar to KiCad, with one exception, you could launch 2 unique instances of the program and copy and paste between them. This is extremely useful and I’m surprised that KiCad doesn’t support this (it seems like it did once). It seems if you put something in a copy buffer, it shouldn’t be locked to the program it came from? Maybe there is something fundamental I’m missing here. Anyone know if this is something being looked at, if there is a bug that I can follow on the subject? Maybe I’m just searching for the wrong thing…

1 Like

This is not possible right now, although you’re not the only one missing it :slight_smile:

You can accomplish this with “Append Sheet” (search for it), it’s just less convenient.

Even copy paste between sheets in same schema is complex and non optimal.

You should be able to do a simple copy / cut with your right mouse button once you have selected something and paste using the same divine famous right click mouse button.

This special symbol and copy block magic is just unnecessary complicated.

Also and more importantly.
You should be able to select if you want net names and Refdes copied.

As of now Refdes is dropped in this process.

Also you should be able to use exact same mechanism to copy paste between symbols.
Non related and also between units within same symbol???

How I wish for symbols to be free floating and tied together in a part, together with its footprint, and other data.
Like,
Type, connector, capacitor, resistor etc
Manufacturer.
Mounting type (th, smd, press fit)
Height.
Price.
Weight.
Tolerance.
Value. Units picked depending on type.
Last modified date.
Modified by whom.
Etc etc.