Edge plating - how to draw it? New KiCAD user

I’m trying to copy a switch which has contacts on both sides. I’d like to get it fabricated as a double-sided PCB. I have drawn the contact layout as a DXF and successfully created a footprint containing edge cuts and front and back copper layers, with pads linked to the contact shapes.

The original switch piece uses contacts along the edge to link one side to the other. I have no experience of KiCAD or PCB manufacture so thought this was probably an unusual one-off, but have since discovered that edge plating exists. See the attached photographs for details of the original switch contacts. (I’ve made more than one post as it seems new users can’t have more than one image).

I can use blind vias for most of the contacts as they are opposite each other on the board, but there are several where the edge bypasses the neighbouring contact to link with one offset on the other side.

Can I replicate this in KiCAD and create a Gerber file to get this made, or is it an unusual and therefore expensive addition? Would I be better off using vias for the contacts that need to be linked and are opposite each other, and manually soldering some material to the offset contacts when I receive the board?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

You may not get very many replies to your post. I looked into edge plating about a year ago and decided it was not worth all the extra effort/costs. It may be do-able at this point time, but I don’t know how to tell you how to do it.

As far as I know, it is not possible with Gerbers.

We tell the manufacturer in another file how we want the castellations or edge plating.

Having a good communication with the manufacturer is the only way we have found.

3 Likes

Edge plating is chemical (the same process to get copper into vias) and will at first plate all holes and edges of the panel.
The normal PCB process is:

• drill holes, cut slots (those will become plated),