Edge.Cuts Layer replication in PCB NEW (how to ?)

Hi all.
I am a beginner with kicad.
I have something I cannot do & I am stuck after trying to find a faq with not succes on this point.

I’m making a 430 Mhz nano transceiver. Which is split in 2 PCB: one for the main functions, the second for having the battery holder. The two boards being connected via PIN headers/connectors

In PCBNEW I would like to replicate the Edge.Cuts layer of BOARD 1 to BOARD 2. I would then be able to place the battery foot print into it.

Is it possible ? How ? ANy tutorial I missed ?

Thnx

I get something like this ( I did not managed , it is Photoshop :slight_smile: )

1. Open the .pcbnew file with a text editor, it is human-readable (close pcbnew first).

2. Find the lines that contain the string (layer Edge.Cuts) They will look similar to this:

(gr_line (start 111.506 109.22) (end 111.506 77.724) (layer Edge.Cuts) (width 0.15))

where start and end define the X/Y coordinates for the lines.

Copy the whole block with your edge definition and modify each Y corrdinate to get a big enough offset from the layout.

1. Save the edited file

2. Open in pcbnew and tweak lines, if necessary.

Why so complicated? It can be done from within pcb_new.

At least in open gl canvas (Use F11 to switch to open gl or view-> switch canvas to open gl): I can’t find a way in legacy/default. Another thing where open gl is better.
Simply left click + hold shift to select the complete outline and use duplicate (ctrl + d). After that just move the mouse and left click again to place the new outline. Or use move exactly (ctrl+m) if you want some exact distance between the copied features.

If you need something with more than two copies it might be a good idea to use the array feature.

1 Like

Working like a charm … tnx so much …

hum … after all not exactly
I think I’m not doing the right way

I manage to duplicate the EdgeCuts but impossible to create the sister board .