Drill Table questions

Hi all,

new to kicad. and this forum. I have searched but not found answers to my questions. I have seen there are a few threads talking about drill tables but nothing I found talked about how to add one.

I actually do PCB design and IC layout for a living. I have been using altium for the last 3 years for PCB design. so… one thing I try hard to be really picky about is documentation. I see no way to add a drill table to the FAB drawing (except manually). Do kicad users just not add a drill table? or am I missing some piece of information?

thanks in advance.

1 Like

here is an example.

Drill table

1 Like

Isn’t this what the drill file is for? (part of the gerber export.)
Or do you want to add this for manual drilling of your boards? (The only usecase that comes to mind right now.)

1 Like

I guess it depends on how you think about it? I think… the drill table is a reflection of the drl file.

I have designed 100s of PCB’s with lots of different tools, and all of them had a drill table or sometimes called a drill schedule on the FAB drawing. if you google PCB FAB drawings or PCB drill table you will see its a pretty common practice.

i dont know if its “old school” now.

i am guessing by your answer there is no way to add a drill table (except manually)

thanks in advance

1 Like

In Pcbnew when you plot your Gerber files, at the bottom of the plot dialog there is a button “Generate Drill File” which brings up another dialog. On the right side of the Drill File Generation dialog there are three buttons, “Drill File”, “Map File”, and “Report File”. You can select the map file format.

2 Likes

thanks, I will give that a try when I get home tonight.

There is. When plotting, click the “Generate Drill File” button (between “Plot” and “Close”) to get the drill file generation window. Select your desired output format and click “Map File”.