DRC says Vcc is not connected with fill zone kicad 8

Hello,

I’m new to KiCad, so please excuse my questions if they seem very noobish - but the shy doesn’t learn.

I’m currently working through the book “KiCad Like a Pro,” and I’m stuck on one of the projects. I’ve created this schematic:

with net label instead of using wires for VCC(named volt) and GND.
thereafter i created net classes using the schematic setup:

then i moved to the PCB editor and did the following:

i created two copper fill zones one on the f.cu layer for the VCC and another b.cu for the GND

it seems that both the ground and Vcc are connected here :

but the DRC says that those connections are missing:

i’m not sure how to go from here
here is the project if someone wants to have a look :
Kicad forum wont let me upload because i’m a new user - here is google drive link :
google drive link of the project
and also Virustotal scan :
virustotal scan

First, turn off hatching for the zones. It is very rarely beneficial, while it slows down KiCad noticeably (on bigger PCB’s), but more important, It makes your PCB much harder to look at and work with. If you really want hatching, then still turn it off during normal design, and only turn it on again at the end when the PCB is nearly finished.

In your case your first unconnected item is because the track from the net MODE_SELECT goes all the way through over the PCB, and combined with the other tracks it cuts your copper zones into little pieces, that are not connected at all at several places. Combined with the big slot created by the TIMER_RESET track, the “volt” zone around S1 and S2 is not connected at all to the rest of the volt net You can easily see the different islands of your “volt” net if you turn off the hatching and then highlight the volt zone by selecting it.

In general some rules for a good design on a 2 layer PCB are:

1. Dedicate one layer to a GND zone (usually the bottom layer).
  2. Draw all tracks on the other (top) layer.