Drawing a pcb to precise dimensions

Hello, I’m not very experienced in using kicad and have made maybe 1 or 2 pcbs using it at this time.

I am looking for a way to draw pcbs to exact dimensions and am having a very hard time figuring out how.

I am used to what other cad packages do where they let you add dimensions to a drawn item and it automatically adjusts to the dimension you type in (like shown this picture taken from fusion 360) (https://imgur.com/a/UgBCn7B)

Ideally I would like to draw my pcbs in the same way but it does not seem that kicad has an option for this, any input is greatly appreciated.

For simple shapes like that you can just set your grid spacing larger. You can also add measurements with the “add measurements” tool on the right tool bar. Them move it or delete it once done.

EDIT: Once you set the grid, right click on the pcb, you can watch the distance at the lower right of the window. Spacebar will reset to the current cursor position for easier reference.

Fusion is a parametric cad program. KiCad (and most other ecad programs) is a direct modeler more like autocad (But without draw command entry field so you really only have the grid. Measurment tools for checking the result exist in the inspect menu.)

There are plans to add some support for parametric paradigms but the earliest we can see something like this will be with v6 so in two years or so. And it remains to be seen which things will be parametric and to which degree.

If you want to work with parametric modeling software then you can do that. KiCad can import dxf so this option always exists (But be careful which dxf version you generate and which features you use. not everything is supported by kicad. For details about that search the forum as i have very little expirience with that.)