Do they build the board?

Hi,

I’ve seen countless video about people making their boards with JLCPCB,PCBWay…

since I live in europe and wanted to give it a try, I uploaded my Kicad project to Aisler.net and picked the parts

but do they even build the board ? it looks like they are charging for the solder of components (like 75€ job fee or something)

I thought it was usualy part of the deal, like you get a fully soldered board

I am really new to this so I am a bit lost

thanks for en lighting my path

PCB manufacturers produce PCBs. That is, a fibreglass sheet with conducting tracks on each side and appropriate holes where needed. It’s like any other component, except it’s customized.
Period.

Assembly and test is a completely different thing. Some PCB manufacturers offer it, but it’s certainly not free.

I saw a video where the had a huge pcb canvas with lot of different projects and machines placing components and as long as they were standard component, costs were cheap

maybe I mixed that with the 2$ only pcb hype that was running on youtube for a while

I just need a small board (less than the size of RPI zero) I can’t afford such prices

The only $2USD deals that I remember hearing about was for one specific board manufacturer (JLCPCB) and AFAIK only for the bare board. Aisler is not JLCPCB. Aisler says “Manufacturing made in Europe” on their website and JLCPCB is a Chinese manufacturing company.

I’m unfamiliar with the assembly costs and procedures for the various different manufacturers/assembly houses so I can’t comment on their prices. Other than to guess with high confidence that each company has a different pricing structure.

JLCPCB are about $2 for 5 PCB’s. Pcbway are about the same. Maybe a little more expensive.